Chicken Enchiladas 

IMG_20141028_093333

  • Cook chicken breast fresh or frozen in your Crock Pot on High with 1-2 c enchilada or picante sauce per lb.
  • Shred chicken and fill tortillas. I add rice or beans to stretch often doubling pre-made meals!
  • I then top with more sauce and cheese on top to save $ You can add cheese inside too if you like.
  • These freeze well. Thaw complete and then heat through.
  • I heat with foil on at first and then remove for last bit so they don’t dry out.
  • The same Crock Pot cooking technique with salsa instead is awesome for tacos and tostadas!

Chicken Lasagnas

IMG_20141019_143521

  • I used a whole bag of frozen chicken breast and 2 cans of basil garlic diced tomatoes. Put in Crock Pot on HIGH.
  • I added salt and pepper, dried garlic, dried onion, olive oil and more Italian seasoning.
  • Cook complete and shred.
  • I added a whole bag of frozen Spinach to the chicken mixture.
  • In a separate bowl I added ricotta, Parmesan,, 1 egg, Italian seasoning, red pepper flake and salt& pepper.
  • I then used the chicken mixture, Cheese mixture and sauce to layer using NO BOIL Lasagna Noodles.
  • Begin with a little olive oil and sauce at the bottom then lay down your first layer of pasta.
  • I spread a thin layer of sauce on top, then meat mix and top with a thin layer of Ricotta mix.
  • Add a layer of noodles and continue.
  • When you have completed all your layers, usually about 3 for me, top with more sauce. You will especially want more sauce around edges. The sauce will cook your pasta and crunchy edges are not so tasty. Top with shredded Italian and Parmesan cheese. If you want to… You know you want to.

Turkey- Chili Bake

IMG_20140917_205757

  • We had left over chili and I love a shortcut meal so here ya go! I had precooked ground turkey in the freezer I mixed with leftover chili and some more seasoning.
  • I added corn because I like to stretch everything 🙂
  • Top with cornbread made to directions. I like Jiffy reminds me of my grandma. To that I added a can green chilies drained and chunks of cheddar. Smear batter on top of meat mix.
  • Bake as per Cornbread directions. You may have to add time to cook through the center. When your knife comes out clean your ready to eat! This meal took under 20 min. WIN

Go to Banana Bread Recipe ( Been using this for 25 years)

PhotoGrid_1411092861464

  • 1/2 c Brown Sugar
  • 3 large mashed Bananas about 1 1/2 c ( I have also subbed a can of pumpkin or fully cooked sweet potatoes also awesome bread or coffee cake!)
  • 3/4 c Applesauce or veg oil
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 c flour ( I sometimes do 1 1/2 c flour and 1/2 c whole oats especially for breakfast bread.)
  • 1/2 chopped Nuts, if you like
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 2 tsp Vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Mix wet ingredients first then add dry. I top with cinnamon sugar mix it makes a yummy crust.
  • Heat oven 325* Makes 2 loaf pans. I like to oil and flour my pans. You will want to fill any vessel only 1/2- 2/3 full as it will expand. I learned the hard way so you don’t have to clean your oven eeek!
  • For loaf pans it will take about 60- 70 min. Or until the toothpick or knife comes out clean.
  • You can freeze the uncooked batter. Just thaw complete and then bake as usual. Hope you like this as much as I do. I would love to hear from you on any creative alternatives on this good ole’ stand by.

Meal Plan Shortcuts

20140915_220834

  • Precook Chicken in a skillet Slice and bag for meals.
  • Precook pasta. Add chicken and sauce to bag insta- meal. Make enough pasta salad to last all week.
  • Throw extra veggies in a pan to roast as a meal side or add frozen veggies to pre-prepped meals.
  • Use muffin and cake mixes to quick bake enough breakfast goodies for the whole week. Make it healthier with frozen berries, oats and nuts!

https://hauteingenue.wordpress.com/2014/09/08/cake-re-mixes/

  • One super fast meal was above with sliced sausage on top of sour kraut. Bake it and microwave potatoes. 20 mins or less and time to multitask!

20140824_184725

  • Pre- cook starches: noodles or rice
  • Pre- cook proteins: chicken, ground meat and beans I like pinto very frugal alternative
  • Pre- Prep: Wash, chop out veggies and get sauces, seasonings, containers and bags together.
  • Dirty Rice: In pan above I added rice, cooked turkey, taco seasoning, pinto beans, diced canned tomatoes.
  • Chicken, Broccoli, Rice Bake: Add rice, frozen broccoli, cooked diced chicken to a corning ware dish or other pan with a drizzle of olive oil in the bottom. Add a can of cream of anything ( chicken, mushroom or celery) Top with breadcrumbs and cheese. Heat through yum!
  • Add any mix of meat pasta and veggies to create a meal. I did zucchini, chicken, mushrooms and peas. I made a light white wine butter sauce on the fly with herbs.
  • Add any mix of rice meat and veggies to create meals. I did a fried rice mix with chicken, yellow squash, mushrooms, carrots, celery. At the last I will throw it all it in a skillet with 2 tbs veg oil. Begin to cook add 2 eggs to scramble and mix in along with soy sauce to taste.
  • Also in a ziploc is ground turkey, celery, carrots, mushrooms, corn and peas. Add a can of cream of mushroom then top with a pie crust or mashed potatoes for pot pie or Shepard’s pie. Ohhh yeah!
  • I also prepped shake and bake lean pork tenderloins. These freeze so well. I had no idea what an ally I had in the freezer!
  • Sauce options shown below.

20140824_164005

 

Freeze Items in Season/ Make your own Stock and Sauces.

20140824_143343

https://hauteingenue.wordpress.com/2014/08/19/3-rotisserie-chicken-recipes-quick-weekly-meal-prep/

 

 

